Recent Articles

Mighty Mike crushes sorry King

Author: Sky Sports Darts

With Pay As You Go Sky Sports available with NOW TV, we have selected some top action not to miss on Sky Sports this week.

Sky Sports gets help from Opta to find out who was unlucky to miss out on PFA nominations.

Michael van Gerwen took his fifth victory in the eighth 2013 Speedy Services UK Open Qualifier of eight events by whitewashing Mervyn King in just 10 minutes in Sunday's final in Wigan.

The Dutch star's domination of the qualifying tournaments for June's UK Open in Bolton saw him pick up another £6,000 title, taking his winnings across the eight Qualifiers to £35,600!

Van Gerwen also took the title in style, defeating Northern Ireland's Daryl Gurney, Dutchman Jerry Hendriks, English youngster Chris Aubrey, Germany's Bernd Roith and Canada's Ken MacNeil for the loss of only 11 legs as he reached the quarter-finals.

There, he edged past Ronnie Baxter 6-4 before coming from 5-2 down in the semi-finals to defeat Adrian Lewis in a deciding leg, with the two-time world champion being punished for four missed match darts in the game's eighth leg.

Van Gerwen then swept to a whitewash victory in the final as he saw off King in only ten minutes and 38 seconds.

Having opened the final with a 74 finish, he punished two missed doubles from King in the second to break in 13 darts on tops, and followed up a 180 with double ten to move 3-0 up.

He added further maximums in the next two legs as he took a 5-0 cushion before landing two 180s in the sixth leg, and when King missed a dart at double 16 to keep his hopes alive van Gerwen secured another triumph by hitting double four.

King earned himself £3000 after seeing off McCoy's Premier League Darts stars James Wade, Wes Newton and Robert Thornton en route to the final, as well as defeating Connie Finnan, Steve Brown, Dave Place and Jason Hogg.

Hogg's semi-final appearance was his best-ever on the PDC circuit since he turned professional at the Qualifying School in January, and followed his run to the last eight 24 hours earlier.

Lewis reached the semi-finals for the second time in 2013 in a fine day which saw him pick up wins over Brett Claydon, Vincent van der Voort, Simon Whitlock, Kevin Thomas, Mark Dudbridge and Matthew Edgar before being punished for missing the four match darts against van Gerwen.

Premier League. Click here to bet.

Read the Full Article